Australia's Future Tax System

Consultation Paper

The Australia's Future Tax System Review Panel

Dr Ken Henry (Chair), Secretary to the Treasury

Dr Henry has made a significant contribution to developing Australia's tax policy over the past 25 years.

Early in his career he was a member of the team which developed the then government's draft White Paper on Tax Reform (June 1985) and tax reform package (Reform of the Australian Taxation System, September 1985). In August 1997 he was appointed Chairman of the then government's Taxation Task Force, responsible for providing advice to the government on tax reform options that led to a New Tax System.

Before being appointed in 2001 as Secretary to the Treasury, Dr Henry held a number of other senior positions within the Treasury including Minister (Economic and Financial Affairs) in the Australian Delegation to the OECD in Paris, head of the microeconomic modelling unit, head of the taxation policy division and Executive Director (Deputy Secretary) of Treasury's Macroeconomic Group.

Dr Henry is an ex-officio member of the Board of Taxation, member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia, Alternate Governor (for Australia) of the International Monetary Fund, and Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Australian Office of Financial Management.

Dr Henry was awarded a Companion of the Order of Australia General Division (AC) in the 2007 Australia Day Honours.

Dr Jeff Harmer, Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Dr Harmer has a keen interest in social policy, management, leadership and organisational change and development.

He began his career in public service in 1978 following five years as a doctoral scholar and tutor at the University of NSW.

Dr Harmer has held various executive positions across a range of Australian government departments. He was appointed Secretary of the Department of Family and Community Services in 2004, and led the department through the changes associated with the addition of the Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination in 2006 and post‑2007 election resulting in the department being renamed as Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs.

Professor John Piggott, Professor of Economics /Associate Dean, Research, Australian School of Business, University of New South Wales

Professor Piggott has a long-standing interest and has published extensively in the economics of taxation and the economic and financial aspects of retirement and pensions.

For the past several years he has worked on ageing issues with the Cabinet Office, Government of Japan, and has also advised on pension issues in the Asian region more generally. In 2007 he was appointed Visiting Professor, Zhejiang University, China, and is currently a Visiting Scholar at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.

Professor Piggott is a member of the Australian Ministerial Superannuation Advisory Committee; Scientific Advisor to the Frisch Center for Economic Research, University of Oslo; and serves on the editorial board of the Cambridge journal — Journal of Pension Economics and Finance.

Ms Heather Ridout, Chief Executive, Australian Industry Group

Ms Ridout is a leading figure in public policy debate and is a member of a number of policy setting and consultative groups including Skills Australia, the Business Advisory Group on Workplace Relations, and Infrastructure Australia.

As Chief Executive of the Australian Industry Group, Ms Ridout is committed to helping Australian industry to meet the challenge of change.

Her focus is on building competitive industries through global integration, human capital development, productive and flexible workplace relations practices, infrastructure development and innovation.

She holds a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) degree from the University of Sydney.

Mr Greg Smith, Adjunct Professor, Economic and Social Policy, Australian Catholic University

Mr Smith consults and teaches in economic and social policy, public policy, advising and leadership.

Mr Smith worked as a tax adviser to the Treasurer in the mid 1980s. He has held senior positions in the Treasury, including Executive Director Budget Group and Revenue Group. He was also Secretary to the Financial System Inquiry, which reported to government in 1997.

He is currently a member of the Commonwealth Grants Commission, Governing Board of the Australian Tax Research Foundation, and the Ministerial Taskforce for an Economic Framework for an Efficient Transport Marketplace.