Australia's Future Tax System

Final Report: Overview

Appendix B: The Australia's Future Tax System Review Panel

Dr Ken Henry AC (Chair), Secretary to the Treasury

Dr Henry was appointed Secretary to the Treasury in 2001, after holding a number of other senior positions within the Treasury, including Minister (Economic and Financial Affairs) in the Australian Delegation to the OECD in Paris, head of the microeconomic modelling unit, head of the taxation policy division and Executive Director (Deputy Secretary) of Treasury's Macroeconomic Group.

Dr Jeff Harmer, Secretary, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Dr Harmer was appointed Secretary of the Department of Family and Community Services in late 2004, and led the department through the changes associated with the addition of the Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination in 2006 and post 2007 election resulting in the department being renamed as Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs. Prior to that Dr Harmer was the Secretary of the Department of Education, Science and Training (2003–2004) and before that Managing Director of the Health Insurance Commission (1998–2003).

Professor John Piggott, Professor of Economics and Associate Dean, Research, Australian School of Business, University of New South Wales

John Piggott is Professor of Economics and Associate Dean Research in the Australian School of Business, University of New South Wales, where he also heads up the Australian Institute for Population Ageing Research. He has published extensively in the fields of Public Finance and Pension Economics, and has consulted on pension policy and related issues to various governments, especially in the Asian region.

Mrs Heather Ridout, Chief Executive, Australian Industry Group

Mrs Ridout is Chief Executive of the Australian Industry Group, a leading industry association representing a broad spectrum of Australian industry. She has a deep interest in public policy and is a member of a number of the Australian Government's key policy setting and consultative groups including the National Workplace Relations Consultative Committee; Infrastructure Australia; and Skills Australia. Her other appointments include Director of Electrolux Home Products, Trustee of AustralianSuper and Director of the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth.

Mr Greg Smith, Adjunct Professor, Economic and Social Policy, Australian Catholic University

Mr Smith consults and teaches in economic and social policy, public policy, advising and leadership. He worked as a tax adviser to the then Treasurer in the mid-1980s and has held senior positions in the Treasury, including Executive Director Budget Group and Revenue Group. He was also Secretary to the Financial System Inquiry, which reported to government in 1997.